Learn Shaolin Worldwide
Traditional Shaolin Kung Fu, Tai Chi, Qigong, and Meditation at Your Fingertips Anywhere, Anytime
Health & Wellness
Sign Up

Shaolin Tai Chi Progression
Shaolin Tai Chi [少林太极 - Shàolín Tàijí] is the most robust expression of human energy for physical and mental health.

Your First 3-6 Months

The first few months of training are perhaps the most important! The goal of this period is to get you acquainted with the terminology and structure for the traditional style and philosophy of training. When you understand how the system works, you'll be able to understand how to get the most out of your training experience.

You'll start off learning basic warm up and stretching routines and immediately start taking short daily classes. You'll also begin your stance training with the Liánmăbù 馬步 Lotus Horse Stance.

As you gain Experience Points (XP) and level up, you'll unlock foundation cloud hands exercises, more foundation stances and take a 'Basic Foundation Class' which includes many of the exercises learned.

With more time and practice, you'll unlock the remaining starter content including Foundation Kicks, the Eight Stance Gentle Fist Bābùróuquán 八步柔拳 form, and a Shaolin Tai Chi Fu Fitness class for daily practice.

For the next while, you'll continue to build up your physical strength, flexibility, coordination, and athletcism. Eventually you'll be able to unlock the Intermediate content which will require the Starter Subscription.

The Next 12-24 Months

Having finished the basic training, you'll have greater awareness and appreciation for how your core works and how that relates to relaxing the muscles in your body. It is time to expand your skillset and breadth of understanding with the Standard Subscription content.

As you can continue to improve your foundation, you'll learn the Shaolin Virtues philosophy framework, self-defence techniques for kicks and punches, more cloud hands techniques, and take your first Shaolin Tai Chi Level 1 classes. Those with Dedicated Subscriptions will be able to access additional training content.

Eight Stance Gentle Fist Bābùróuquán 八步柔拳 form, and progress to another form named Cloud Hands Fist Yúnquán 云拳.

Each taolu form is has 4 levels of mastery. You'll be expected to have slightly lower stances and more relaxed movements and strikes as you progress.

In order to maintain tradition and quality of Shaolin Kung Fu, you'll be expected to pass tests by uploading videos of yourself demonstrating each form. If your form needs more work, our coaches will give you feedback and guidance.

Beyond 2 Years

As you advance in your capability, you will want to learn more forms and techniques.

You may also consider becoming a Junior Instructor and develop your own local training club (we are currently working this out so stay tuned!).

When you are ready you will be able to progress to a form called Gentle Fist Róuquán 柔拳.

Contact Us About 'LearnShaolin.com'
Mailing Address:
  393 Dundas Street West, 2nd Floor
  Toronto, Ontario M5T 1G6

We're the online branch of the STQI Toronto school
(STQI stands for Shaolin Temple Quanfa Institute)
Click here to visit our school's website

Copyright © Learn Shaolin and STQI Toronto 2024 All rights reserved.